A few odds’n’ends

Since I’ve been reading a couple of really good liberal Christianity blogs, I’ve been finding links to a lot of interesting content. I’ll be sharing more, goin’ forward. Also, politics.

A nice take on Catholic education, as it should be. I really did luck out with my 2nd Catholic school, even though my father apologized for it. The quality of teaching was much higher, especially in the subjects that still dominate a lot of my thinking – science, English, literature…

This is one of the books I’m reading right now. (Out of… about 4. Maybe 5. heh. I need to organize that better.) It’s going to be grist for later posts about BDSM, masculinity, and a bunch of things, but my oh my is it fascinating reading. I know that not all straight men are like the pick-up artist community, but holy fuck are these guys strange. Then again, I could write a similar book, starting with blog posts, about gay culture. *lightbulb* OK, will keep that idea on file. And I really want to meet the book’s author, who I know lives in Chicago. Maybe some year I’ll get off my ass…

I’m always looking for new music(even though my collection is at… 91GB of music. Which translates to over 39 days, total. And that’s just music, not counting lectures, both audio-only and video, that I’ve downloaded. plus all the podcast novels I’ve listened to, and the podcasts I listen to on a daily basis… There’s a reason I always have iTunes open on my mac, currently named Gnosis. *grin* One of my best sources for new music every year is the best albums list created by one of my favorite web cartoonists every year. I’m just getting to Jeph’s list this year, but it’s got 15 albums, and in the past he’s lead me to some of my favorite music, like Royksopp:

Yeah, weird video – awesome music, though! And if you have any recommendations, please do keep ’em coming.

1 Comment

Filed under Daily Life, General Status, Music, Religion

One response to “A few odds’n’ends

  1. Adrienne

    I was trying to remember your story about getting in major trouble in Catholic school by asking too many / the wrong questions the other day, but the particulars escape me. 😛

Leave a comment